Welcome MAPJD

I’m happy  to announce that I have just started on the part-time MA Photojournalism & Documentary Photography course (MAPJD) at London College of Communication.  Part of the course requirement is to keep a blog – you can follow my progress here (under MAPJD) along with my other news.    So to my fellow classmates, I look forward to spending the next 2 years hearing more about your work  and here’s a brief synopsis of what I do…..

I am a London based documentary photographer and photographic facilitator and have been working in the industry for the last 13 years. Prior to this I assisted photographers for about 3/4 years.  I’ve worked mainly in community settings with charities working on projects with; refugees, individuals with special needs, children/young adults with learning and behavioral difficulties, young people that have been excluded from school, teenage parents and the elderly.  I have also worked as an artist/photographer-in-residence in a number of diverse institutes and I volunteer with the Helen Bamber Foundation, a human rights organisation that helps to rebuild lives with survivors of gross human rights violations – I teach photography as part of their creative arts programme.

My current photographic work  predominately explores issues around the landscape (social, political, urban, suburban and natural environments) including relationships between people and their environment.  One project I am working on ‘LUNGS’ is an ongoing photographic study of greenspaces in urban areas and how people use these spaces.   You can read more about this project on my website under ‘greenspaces’.

My reasons for wanting to enrol on this course include; to further develop my practice and hopefully take it to another level, producing work with a much stronger narrative.  I would also like to pursue more in-depth project  work in the future and feel that having an MA will help when applying for funding plus it ‘should’ improve my theoretical/critical analysis which will also help with this.

I feel privileged to be able to participate on this course under the guidance of esteemed tutors and a supportive network of peers.  The journey begins……….

Leave a Reply

